2014 Ballinacurra Cup – roundup

Cove SC burgeeThe Ballinacurra Cup marks the end of Cove Sailing Club’s dinghy season. Its an old race with the class 1 trophy dating back to the 1940’s when it was presented to Cove Sailing Club by the Irish Naval Service. Its a long (c. 7 miles) race and in places a tricky race which takes you through parts of the harbour that many of our Juniors competing for the first time would not have sailed before.

This year we had a great turnout with 7 class 1 boats and 10 class 2’s which together with a variety of motor boats and ribs providing support made a great spectacle opposite Cobh at the start. The fleet then made its traditional route passing Cuskinny, on into East Ferry and then through the narrow channels of the Owenacurra river up to Ballinacurra. We had moderate NE wind which held just enough to get the boats up to the finish with tide helping especially at the end when the wind became very flukey. It was in the last hundred yards or so that minutes were gained or lost as some boats seemed to find wind whilst others struggled relying on the tide to push them on towards the line.

After tying up (the boats not the competitors) we all went across to the Brooklands Bar for sandwiches and well earned refreshments. In front of an excited crowd of about 80 people the results were announced and these are summarised below:

Class 1 winner Ronan Kennelly (laser full rig), 2nd Alex Barry,Colin Barry, Paul Cotter (Nat.18), 3rd Ewen Barry, Stan Brown, Dion Barrett (Nat. 18).

Class 2 winner Josh Dorgan, Kieran Dorgan (Mirror), 2nd David O’Flynn (laser 4.7), 3rd Jamie McDonnell (laser 4.7), 4th Chris McDonnell (laser 4.7).

(Full results available here)

Cove Sailing Club would like to thank the Brooklands Bar for hosting us, Keen on Sport for the vouchers, Race Officers Niall, Steve and Michelle, and all the competitors and spectators who came out and supported this great old race.